invincible

I realized something today as I was driving back home from school: I see myself as invincible.  Not like Superman (who I think is the lamest superhero ever), but it’s more that I feel nothing really bad has happened to me.  I’ve been so cautious most of my life that I’ve avoided what I consider to be really horrible mistakes.  Even in school when I procrastinate until the very end I get everything done on time and get really good grades.  Though I love to speed when driving I’ve never gotten a moving violation (I have gotten 3 parking tickets but those don’t count on your record).  Things seem to fall into my lap and I don’t feel like I’ve really had to fight for anything.

Having said all that, I’m trying not to take these blessings for granted.  I realize how easy my life has been, that all of it is from God and that I shouldn’t abuse this grace He gives me.  I don’t want to live my life believing that nothing really bad will ever happen to me, I know it doesn’t work like that.  I want to be thankful for every accident I avoid and every heartache that passes me over.  And when trouble comes I don’t want to hide from it or try to deny it.  I want to face it knowing that the same God who has blessed me a million times over is standing right next to me, facing it with me.  And He truly is invincible.

Leave a Reply

