!!!

It was amazing!!!!  It started at 7:30 in “The Pavillion” at UC Davis.  We sat in the bleachers but still had a pretty good view.  The opening band was Ruth:

I had heard of Ruth but never heard any of their stuff.  I really enjoyed them, they kind of reminded me of the old Switchfoot.  They’re from Washington (have you heard of them, Matt?  Maybe you’re how I’ve heard about them?) and yeah, they were rockin’ and I bought their c.d. after the show (and got it signed by all of them (!)).  Check them out!  After their set, it was on to music I know and love:

Oh man.  Words cannot describe but I will attempt.  Lights and people were going crazy, we were all screaming our lungs out (singing and general screaming) and I was a bit jealous of the crowd on the floor who were able to jump around and actually see see the band.  They played songs from every album (except their first and Deck the Halls…): “Sadie Hawkins Dance”, “In Love With the 80’s (Pink Tux to the Prom)” with an awesome intro from Tears For Fears’ “Head Over Heels”, “I So Hate Consequences”, etc.  They even played “Sleigh Ride” and had Santa rappel from the ceiling with fake snow falling over the audience.  When they played “Sadie Hawkins Dance” they had someone from the audience come and play the last chord with them.  And one spastic guy got up on stage and was waving the tambourine around, rolling all over the stage and as Matt Thiessen said, the kid was legitimately scaring me.  And of course, they sang their special “Office” song followed by “The Office” theme song.  And now my life is complete.  But seriously, it was amazing.  And they were followed by:

Switchfoot’s amazing in concert.  If you haven’t seen them live, find a way to. Jon Foreman knows how to bring the crowd in.  He did this weird thing where he’d bring his guitar up to his mouth.  I think he was screaming into it and making the strings vibrate. . .maybe.  It was too far away to be certain.  And then he’d just drop to his knees or run over to the drums and hit the cymbals with his hands.  At one point the strobe lights were going and he was in the middle of the stage, swinging a cymbal around and around and I was just waiting for him to hit his mic on accident.  And he would stand on the edge of the crowd while they would gather around and lift their hands toward him.  When they played “We Are One Tonight” I felt shivers go down my spine.  It’s such a powerful song.  And it was so amazing because at certain points he would just stop singing and let the audience take the lead.  And then I could hear the voices of 4,000 people as they really became one.  I want to go back.

We didn’t get back until 3:15 but the exhaustion and voice loss was totally worth it.

One thought on “!!!

  1. OHMYBOB!!!!!!!!! I am soooooo jealous! That is awesome, what a great opportunity. I am so glad you had a good time and were even able to go. *sigh* Good times…

Leave a Reply

