connections

I think, deep down (or not so deep for some of us), we all desire a connection.  We search for connections everywhere, amongst friends and even with strangers.  I love feeling even the small connection from receiving a smile from a stranger, a spark of joy when laughter is shared between us.  Even something as trivial as finding out someone else shares a love of The Office makes me feel a connection to them and they’re somehow an even better person because of it.  Maybe it’s shallow to feel this way, but I believe everyone feels it to some degree or another.  Think about your friends, there’s got to be something connecting you.

There’s only been one time I’ve tried watching the Super Bowl, it was the year that Janet Jackson and Justin Timberlake performed during Halftime.  Yeah, not exactly something that gave me the desire to watch it again.  Anyway, I did watch it tonight with my Life Group from church.  Well, I watched the last half.  And it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting, though I could have lived with less beer commercials and more Google ones, but whatever.  One thing that did strike me was the connection fans had to their teams and the way the team must be connected with one another.  How cool is that?  (I will refrain from commenting on the fact that 90% of Americans were apparently watching the game tonight.)

It’s important for humans to feel connected; I don’t believe we’re meant to be alone.  I know some people prefer to be alone, goodness knows I need my privacy every now and then, but I believe that everyone desires at least one connection.  I’m thankful I’ve found mine.

4 thoughts on “connections

  1. Hehe, superbowl was on here too, and there was nothing else on so we watched a bit of it. It was funny. They just throw themselves at each other, and I see what my brother means about it constantly stopping and starting. The very first song that was sung… by Queen Latifah, I think. What was that, and why did a load of people have their hands on their chests? It wasn’t the national anthem cause that came after…

    On a side note, I had a dream about you last night :P You and Jason were in the Plymouth, and you had this very cute son who was probably about 5 years old. I went to meet you for the first time and you asked me to babysit the next day, but I couldn’t because I had a lecture then. I think you may have transformed into my auntie at some point…

Leave a Reply

