6

September 1, 2003

I had just turned 16, he was 18.  At first we communicated through instant messenger, than I finally got a cell phone and we talked every night.  I wasn’t allowed to drive to see him at first, but after a summer of my parents driving me up at least once a month and a pair of forgotten rental gloves, I was allowed to make the journey alone.  And I did, as many times as I could.  We went to prom, Mexico and camp together.  It was a great two years.  Then I broke up with him.  For a year and a half, he was always on my mind but I was too angry or stubborn or scared to contact him.  We finally did reconnect and eventually started dating again.

September 1, 2007

At the end of May 2008, he asked me to marry him.  How could I say no?  And so.  We’ve now been married 6 months; how time has flown.  And yet, it feels like it’s been like this forever.  In a way, I suppose it has, 6 and a half years is a long time to know someone.  I am so blessed to be able to share my life with my best friend.  I remember before we met thinking how romantic high-school sweethearts were, and then I realized, I’m part of that.  Of course, things aren’t always perfect, but even through the rough patches, I know I am deeply loved and I am so thankful to be able to give my love in return.

August 8, 2009

4 thoughts on “6

  1. I remember what it was like after Ken and I had been married for almost 6 months. I was so in love with him, but every day I was dreading the next. He was deployed on February 16 which was 5 months and 15 days after we were married.

    It was really tough to be without him, and he ended up missing our first anniversary, but we had survived the long distance thing for a while at that point already. This year its our 4th year of marriage together, and it seems so strange, but so right. Things aren’t always perfect, but everyday i choose to love him, and he chooses to love me, and so even when things are bad, they aren’t as bad cause we’re together.

    Just think in 30 years you will look back on your life and think, wow its been such a long time, and yet not long enough. The coolest thing about being high school sweethearts though is that really you have spent almost your entire life with them.. Even right now Ken and I are going on 10 years of knowing each other…. 10. I’ve known him almost half my life.

  2. That must have been really difficult; I can’t imagine having to go through that. And you’re right, love is a choice, and a powerful choice at that. There are good days and bad (more good than bad) and sharing them with the one you love makes the bad easier to get through.

    I totally know what you mean. I’m looking forward to the day when I can say I’ve known Jason for more than half my life. :) That’s awesome about you and Ken. Yay, love!

Leave a Reply

