doubt

Why is doubt considered such a bad thing?  As Christians, why is it so negative to have questions?

In recent conversations with friends I’m seeing more and more that doubt is looked down on as being unfaithful and it’s discouraging.  I think as Christians we should be questioning things.  Of course, I don’t mean we should try and tear down others’ beliefs, but I think it’s of the utmost importance to examine things for ourselves and decide if it’s something we can stand behind or not.  I know that in some cases it’s impossible to know something for sure but that’s what faith is.  "The opposite of faith is not doubt, it’s proof."  A friend of mine said this and at first it might not seem to make much sense but I have to agree with him.  Once you know something for sure, you don’t need faith.

My point is that I think too many Christians are sheep, simply following popular belief because it’s easier to do that than question the system.  And that’s the truth, it is tough to step out and question things that "just are."  But I think that’s very dangerous ground, to simply accept something Just Because.

One of the Life Groups I’m in is using Timothy Keller’s "The Reason For God"  DVDs and book for discussion.  The whole point of the series is to address questions posed by those outside the Christian faith.  But I think a lot of Christians have these same questions.  I don’t think people with questions should be looked down upon as "weak of faith" or "not really believers."  I think it’s unfair since it’s impossible to know what kinds of personal experiences one has been through.  There are reasons that "being a Christian" is difficult.  A lot is resting on faith.

I know I haven’t said anything new or revolutionary, just something that’s on my heart.  I myself need to be reminded to actively live my faith.  I’m always reminding myself that I can’t be stagnant, I need to be learning and challenging what I hear, hold it up to the light and see what I believe.  And that’s the tough thing about faith, it takes many forms and doesn’t look the same to everyone.  But that doesn’t meant it’s wrong or anything less.

4 thoughts on “doubt

  1. You have hit the nail on the head as to why some people (me) get away from truly organized religion. I have not lost faith, but questioning it seemed to be NOT ok. It was not ok to think that other religions have a strong, valuable basis. It is the reason for so many wars in the world today. My faith doesn’t wane, but the belief that there is only one true faith seems ignorant to me. I love that you question things, it reaffirms my faith in the youth of today.

  2. if you keep questioning things, you will tear down beliefs and replace them with the ones you find to be more true, that’s the reason for questioning in the first place. unless your just looking for reassurance

Leave a Reply

