project 1

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to finish at least 6 handmade projects this year.  I think I’m going to try for one a month but I’m not gonna kill myself achieving that goal.  So this month I made a laptop case for my new computer.  I already have a pretty nice black laptop case, but I wanted something bright and cute.  I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.

I got my inspiration from Habit of Art.  I obviously didn’t copy her pattern exactly.  I wanted something with a pocket similar to the case I already have so I made it an accordion pocket (which I realize is kind of hard to see in the pictures).  And I wanted straps that would fit comfortably over my shoulder, something my other case does not have.  For the lining I used sew-able interfacing and an old wetsuit that Jason got at an elephant gift exchange.  The pocket is secured with four snaps underneath the buttons (which I’m absolutely in love with as they match the flowers on the straps and they are so fun and colorful).  Now I just need an excuse to use it!

2 thoughts on “project 1

Leave a Reply

