welcome?

I was hungry, and you gave Me something to eat;
I was thirsty, and you gave Me something to drink;
I was a stranger, and you invited Me in;
naked, and you clothed Me;
I was sick, and you visited Me;
I was in prison, and you came to Me.

Mathew 25:35, 36

The other day a homeless woman stayed at our place.  This was not my idea but my gracious husband thought it would be nice to offer her a place where she could take a shower and do laundry.  I was not comfortable or happy with the decision but I couldn’t very well tell her no when the offer had been made.  And I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind, both the uncomfortableness of the whole situation and the way I reacted.  On the one hand, I felt unsafe the whole time and I got this feeling that she didn’t like me, on the other, what does the above verse say?  It was a moment where the rubber met the road in a very real way.  Fortunately we didn’t get hazed or anything and we were able to help her stay warm and dry for one night.  I’m still grappling with the whole balance of this calling though, where is that invisible line drawn?  There are organizations out there especially for services like what we offered.  She told us that she didn’t want to be associated with homeless people and that she chose her lifestyle so she could save her money up “for something.”  It’s all very convoluted and not clearcut at all and that’s what frustrates me.  I wish I could say one way or the other what the “right” choice for something like this.  I guess we did the right thing but I’m still not feeling completely at peace about it all.  Oh, life.

One thought on “welcome?

Leave a Reply

