wonder-full

I’ve been thinking a lot about my childhood.  I’m sad to say that I don’t remember a lot of it, just lots of sunshine and happiness (and rainbows and unicorns. . .kinda).  As far as memories go, I suppose it’s not a bad thing that I don’t have any traumatic stories to share. 

Sundays were the highlight of my week because that meant hanging out with a friend or two after church.  It also meant warm egg sandwiches.  My dad liked to make them for us and then wrap them up in plastic wrap.  He’d also hold our clothes over the heater so that we didn’t have to leave our warm bed for cold clothing.  I distinctly remember how we would press the sandwiches up to our face in the hopes it would warm us too.  I don’t know why that sticks out so strongly in my mind, maybe because it highlights so poignantly how Dad took care of me.

I’ve also been watching how other children are being raised, and thinking about the kinds of experiences I want my own children to have.  I really like this blog, her parenting style is so magical, I would love to be her child.  I’ve been yearning to go back to that magical age of innocence, to a time where life was new and wonderful, where things just rolled off like water and the only thing I had to worry about was not having enough sunlight to play outside.  I wish I could tell children how important their experiences are Right Now.  I wish I could make them understand how special and unique their perspective is and to really hold on to what they have and think and feel.  I really wish I could impress upon them how beautiful they are and how they make the world a better place.  But if they really understood that, they wouldn’t be children.

This has also made me think about how I want to live my life, what kind of legacy I want to leave behind.  I hope that I have many more decades on this earth but I want to make Now count just as much as the rest.  I want to live a life full of whimsy, full of color and joy.  I really want to create and inspire and Live.  My hands are itching to build and stretch and bring new life.  My head is swimming with ideas and my desire to travel and experience and Change the World is making me jittery.  Oh man, I am ready to jump into whatever’s headed my way.  And I’m so excited.

One thought on “wonder-full

Leave a Reply

