countdown

I’m on my last few shifts with the hospital.  One today and tomorrow, and three hours on Saturday.  I still can’t believe I’m leaving, even though I’ve had three weeks to soak it in.  My new job with the county starts on Monday and I can’t wait to jump into this next new thing.  I am nervous, seeing as this is a completely new set of expectations and responsibilities.  But even though I’ll miss everyone here, I’m definitely looking forward to a normalized sleep and life schedule.  And I’ll be off nights, weekends, and holidays (major bonus).  And while I won’t have a stretch of four or fives days off, hopefully my life will be less crazy feeling.  The sound of sirens or my phone ringing won’t put me in a panic, and I won’t have to deal with physical sores and cuts (which kind of make me queasy). 

I have no illusions that I won’t have to deal with emotional and otherwise invisible wounds; people are broken, whether it’s totally apparent or not.  What I really look forward to is being able to build relationships with my clients, being able to see their progress and really see the affect I’m having on their lives.  I feel like so many people come to the ER because there are non-physical hurts that they are either unable or unwilling to identify.  Maybe I’m being naïve, but I think things will be different and I’m excited.

5 thoughts on “countdown

  1. Thank you, everyone!

    On a side note, I’m not sure what’s up with facebook, I’ve been at my new job for three weeks now and it’s finally posting this? Weird.

Leave a Reply

