really?

We went to a movie tonight with friends.  And while it was not an especially violent or sexualized movie, it was rated PG-13 and I don’t think it’s appropriate for anyone under 16 to see it.  Seriously, I think they should have a rating between PG-13 and R, that’s really a huge gap.  Anyway, it’s irritating on several different levels.  One, the kid was sitting behind me and starting kicking my seat somewhere along the line.  Also, he kept asking his parents what was going on as a lot of the dialog and such went over his head (if he could even see over the back of the chair, I didn’t check).  Also, I’m not sure children of that age should be watching those kinds of things.  And someone brought their infant into the theatre.  What is up?  You really couldn’t find a babysitter?  And if you’re child is too young to be left with a babysitter, you probably shouldn’t be taking him or her to the movies with you anyway.  It’s okay to take a break from movie going to raise your child, really.  Last time we came to this particular theatre we went to see “Cowboys and Aliens” (surprisingly okay) and I swear the same people with the baby were there.  They sat in the same spot, somewhere in the very back row over on the right.

Ranting aside, I do think it’s unhealthy to bring young children to movies.  I’m of the mind that children shouldn’t even be exposed to screens until they’re at least 3, and even then pretty limited.  I know, I’m not a parent yet and the t.v. is a great way to get things done while they’re distracted.  And I’m not saying parents who do that are wrong, I just don’t agree with that philosophy.  I’ve known plenty of parents who raised their children without the help of a screen.  I myself did not really grow up with a lot of t.v.  We didn’t even have one until I was at least 7, around the time we got our first computer.  It saddens me that children these days aren’t raised outside.  I know that the world is a dangerous place and not getting any better (or so ‘they’ say) but I think it’s a tragedy for children to spend all their lives inside.  The great outdoors are just that, pretty great.  I loved spending time outside with the neighborhood kids.  That’s the kind of childhood I want for my children.  Maybe we’ll move to a farm. . .

Leave a Reply

