game on

The major project is finally finished!  I’m so excited to share it here.  I got the inspiration for this from this blog and revamped it a lot.  I made a bag and the book that I shared here and I definitely did not spend as little as she did on her version.  I think this is my favorite project of the year.  It took a lot of work and time but it was totally worth it.  I think it’s really fun and I can’t wait to give it to my nieces and nephew.

cookie sheet before:

 

and after:

Unfortunately I didn’t take a real before shot, before I sanded it down.  It was pretty gnarly looking, let me tell ya.  Now it looks practically brand new!

the fabric before:

and the bag after:

 

 

close up zipper:

Jason happened to see this fabric when we were browsing and I thought it was so fun and perfect for travel games.  I wanted to preserve the panel as much as possible and I thought a long time before I actually started working on the project, making sure I was utilizing the piece as much as possible.  I really dig the colors and the whimsical nature of the drawings.  And even though I really hate working with zippers and this one was no different, it came out pretty well.  Fun and functional.

the whole shebang:

Well, except for the book.  But there are seven games, four pens, one spinner, nine dice, and a whole bunch of game pieces (including extras in case any are lost).

close up sorry spinner:

I’m really excited about how this came out.  Dad figure out how to make it look so much like the cards.  I love the vibrant colors on this too.  I had a bit of a difficult time with this sorry board.  I couldn’t really find any good pictures online so I ended up scanning the board we have.  given that the board is larger than a normal scanning area it was hard to make sure all the surface was scanned so that it would line up correctly.  It’s not perfect, but it’s pretty close.

the pieces:

I love these containers.  We got them at Michaels and they are so perfect.  They have really strong magnets on the bottom and stack really well.  When placed in the front pocket they make nice weights to keep the flap down.  And there was an extra that we get to keep! :)

Like I said, I loved this project.  There were so many fun and challenging pieces to it and the end result is one I’m proud of.  Technically I could consider this to be six projects in one: the book, the bag, the cookie sheet, the game boards, the spinner, the pieces.  But that would be a lot more posts than I’d want to make.  I’m happy to report that my original new year’s goal is more than complete.  Yay!  And I have at least one more project I’m working on. :)

Leave a Reply

