tennis helper

I’m sure you’ve seen the picture floating around; I made two of these little guys for my uncle who really likes tennis.  There weren’t any instructions that I could find so I just kinda made it up as I went along.

Using a razor blade, I cut the mouth and then stuck the blade through the back so the suction cup would be in the right spot.  Using a pan head bolt (after making a hole in the suction cup and the ball), I secured the suction cup to the back of the ball.   With the help of a pair of needle nose pliers, I attached the nut to the bolt inside the ball.  Then I used a sharpie to draw on the eyes; I wanted to use rivets like the ones in the picture, but that seemed like it would be tedious and make this simple project not so simple.  I’m happy with the end result and hope he’ll get a kick out of them.

cost breakdown:

tennis balls: free (thanks, Holly! :)
suction cups: $2.67
2 pan head bolts: $.41
2 nuts: $.37

total: $3.45

Leave a Reply

