mindful monday: equality

I’ve been listening to the audiobook for The Help by Kathryn Stockett and reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer.  (Yes, the author of the awful Twilight series.  But unlike Twilight, this world is one she’s created on her own.  I’m reading it for the fourth or fifth time.)  Anyway, the theme in both is that of equality, at least that’s what I’m seeing.  Whatever the context, I think it’s an important topic.

I know I have my own prejudices, however much I don’t want to, and it causes me to treat people unequally.  I’ve seen myself being overly nice or sensitive to those I feel have been mistreated, like I’m compensating for what’s might have been done to them by others.  Jason and I talked about how this another kind of inequality, something that I need to work on.

When I was a child I remember feeling a very strong sense of anger and frustration at the unfairness of life.  If I ever thought one of my brother’s friends was being treated unfairly, I would do what I could to bring balance back to the situation.  I’ve always felt that there needed to be some kind of balance – however tenuous – in this world.  This is something that I strive for in my every day and I think it greatly influences this idea of equality.  Everyone should be given the chance to be and do something great.  Far be it for me to stand in their way.

Leave a Reply

