mindful monday: gratitude

In group tonight we were talking about being thankful for where we are right now.  A couple from the group had visited some friends out of town and it really put the blessings of this area into perspective.  Seeing someone who’s living in the “rat race” and striving to keep up the expectation of having the new and best things, they realized how wonderful it is to live in a place where that isn’t the most important thing.  We each found value in the personal relationships we have, more than the amount of stuff we own.  It can be so easy to think of how nice it would be to have that or this thing, but we need to be reminded of what’s important in life and be thankful for the circumstances we find ourselves in now.

And those thoughts went right into reminding me, once again, how thankful I am for this place.  Even though I miss family and old friends, I’m thankful for this beautiful slice of heaven that we live in.  I’ve been thinking too about the affect living here has had on my life philosophy.  There’s a lot of emphasis on organic and leaving as little impact on the environment as possible.  I think I’ve always appreciated the earth and all the beauty it has to offer, and have been concerned with the wastefulness and disregard that many have for this beautiful place we’ve been given.  I want to care for the earth, this wonderful place God has blessed us with.  And living here has shown me how I might be respectful of the land and earth.  I’m thankful for living here and now.

Leave a Reply

