mindful monday: grief

As I said before, I got some pretty shocking news this weekend.  Because I don’t need to share my personal life with the whole wide internet, I will not go into the specifics of what this news was.  But it was pretty devastating to my family, which is why I’m so thankful we were able to be together for the weekend.  Over and over again I’ve been so thankful for the family I was born into, now more than ever.  We held each other, cried, prayed, and laughed.  It was a roller coaster of emotion, but I wouldn’t have wanted to go through it without them.  I’m so thankful that it wasn’t a tragedy that made us a close family, that we’ve always been this way and will continue to grow closer as we journey together.  During this time of mourning and grief, we will lean in to each other and to God.

I’m familiar with the five stages of grief, something I studied in school.  But I don’t want to get so caught up in “What stage am I in?” that I lose sight of what’s important.  I felt absolutely devastated when I first heard the news, but I’m feeling the beginnings of an amazing peace, which I’m so thankful for.  I don’t know what the road ahead holds or how I’ll react to it, but I do know that I have an awesome community surrounding me, and I won’t have to go through this alone.  I’m praying for peace that passes understanding, and will lean into God when it feels too heavy to bear.

Leave a Reply

