mindful monday: selflessness

I read an article yesterday about marriage and how it’s not about me.  Then today I was listening to music at work and Anberlin’s “Burn out Brighter (Northern Lights)” came on.  Here’s the chorus:

Live, I wanna live inspired

Die, I wanna die for something

Higher than myself

Live and die for anyone else

The more I live I see

This life’s not about me

In different seasons of my life God seems to speak particular themes to me.  Right now I’m reminded of my own selfishness and my need to be selfless.  I tend to be pretty controlling, feeling like my environment needs to be a certain way or else I get really stressed out.  Poor Jason, he’s the recipient of a lot of the controlling nature and my reactions when things don’t go my way.  I know that marriage is not about me and my needs, but about giving and serving Jason.  I love and understand the idea, but the execution is the difficult part.  These nudges are good reminders and keep this idea in the forefront of my mind.  My prayer is that God will continue to work in me and show me ways to serve and be selfless in my marriage, and in my life.

Leave a Reply

