dog on it

title: Dog On It: A Chet and Bernie Mystery

author: Spencer Quinn

genre: Fiction, mystery, humor

suggested by: Michalle T.

dates read: Feb 9th – Feb 10th

review: 5 of 5 stars

summary: Bernie Little is a private eye whose partner happens to be a canine, Chet.  Chet is the narrator of the tale (haha), and from his low-to-the-ground perspective he provides a unique outlook on life and the detective work he and Bernie share.  Bernie is hired by Cynthia Chambliss to find her missing daughter.  As Bernie and Chet untangle the mystery, both find themselves in danger but unwilling to let go of the case and the feeling that not everything is what it seems. . .

personal thoughts: Oh man.  Another winner!  I devoured this book and would have finished it in one day if I didn’t have to sleep.  I loved the unique perspective that Chet offered and how “dog-like” the voice was.  He would get distracted, not realize that he was growling, barking, jumping, etc.  And he would make references to color with the caveat that apparently his sense of color was not to be trusted.  Just brilliant.  I will definitely be returning to this series.

favorite quotes:
“Stakeouts: I’ve sat through a million.  Okay, possibly not a million.  Truth is, I’m not too sure about a million, what it means, exactly – or any other number for that matter – but I get the drift from Bernie.” p. 29

“A wild goose chase!  I’d heard that expression so many times but never been on one.  It sounded like the most exciting thing in the whole world.  Yes, I wanted to go on a wild-goose chase. . .” p. 136

“Malcolm looked out, talking on a cell phone, something about capturing residuals, a new one on me, although I was familiar with marsupials, had actually seen one, a possum, I think, captured by a fox on the Discovery Channel.”  p. 197

“That often happened when some human and I were alone together, always leaving me with the feeling that the talking kept on inside their heads, no silence ever.  Between you and me, and no offense, but I really wouldn’t want to be human.” p. 272

Leave a Reply

