the fault in our stars

title: The Fault in Our Stars

author: John Green

genre: Fiction, love story, terminal illness

date read: Feb 25th (started & finished)

review:  5 of 5 stars

summary: Hazel Grace Lancaster has been battling cancer for three years and recently started going to a support group, where she meets Augustus Waters, a gorgeous boy she’s instantly drawn to, who also battled cancer.  Their friendship develops quickly and they fall in love.  So much more happens but you should read the book to find out.

personal thoughts: Oh man.  I started and finished this in a day, as I suspected I would.  I started watching John Green and his brother Hank when they started the vlogbrothers channel on YouTube back in 2007.  I am a huge fan of both men and love the insights they share weekly.  Surprisingly I had never read anything by John but I have wanted to since my discovery of the Green brothers.  This was such a poignant and beautiful story of love, life, and loss.  Hazel’s voice is so unique and real, and I loved her honestly and perspective on living with a terminal illness, and just living in general.  I would recommend this to anyone.

favorite quotes:
“’There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after.  And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it.  God knows that’s what everyone else does.” p. 13

“Osteosarcoma sometimes takes a limb to check you out.  Then, if it likes you, it takes the rest.” p. 18

“They might be glad to have me around, but I was the alpha and the omega of my parents’ suffering.” p. 116

“There is no honor in dying of.” p. 217

“My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations.” p. 311

Leave a Reply

