divergent

title: Divergent

author: Veronica Roth

genre: Fiction, future, dystopian Chicago

suggested by: BuzzFeed

date read: April 18th

review: 5 of 5 stars

summary: Beatrice “Tris” Prior lives in a dystopian Chicago where society is divided into strict factions: Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite.  The story opens on the day of the aptitude test, a process which each sixteen year old is put through to determine which faction they would best fit in.  Beatrice finds that she is does not fall into a neat category and is labeled a “divergent,” which apparently is dangerous and needs to be kept secret from everyone.  Being a “fair” society, each individual is allowed to chose which faction they will go to.  Beatrice has a difficult choice to make, one that will change her life forever.

personal thoughts: I didn’t really know anything about this series/book going into it, didn’t even read the dust jacket, which is not normal for me.  It took me a little bit to get up to speed but once I did I couldn’t put the book down.  It reminded me of Hunger Games (I’ve seen others compare the two) and the whole “sorting” thing makes me think of Harry Potter.  Apparently I like these kinds of stories and I think I’ll read the rest of the series after this year is over.  I did read that the third book wasn’t good, but when have I ever listened to reviews?  Anyway, the idea might not be totally original, but I liked the story and the characters, and really enjoyed this quick read.

favorite quotes:
“A pale ring of sunlight burns into the clouds like the end of a lit cigarette.” p. 38

“I believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.” p. 207

“That is death – shifting from ‘is’ to was.'” p. 303

Leave a Reply

