the Bible and cream puffery

As you probably know if you’ve been reading my blog, I do yearly projects.  They started in 2011 and the inspiration comes from a friend who decided that New Year’s resolutions should be things we enjoy, to encourage us to actually follow through.  And I’ve had a lot of fun with the projects over the years.

This year I’ve decided to do an academic study of the Bible.  I’ve been a Christian all my life, but I feel like I’ve been spoon-fed for most of it.  Over the last few years, my faith has morphed and I’m finding a yearning for more.  I want to have Truth for myself and to do my own research and study for a better understanding.  I think the Bible’s a good place to start and I thought that if I could dig deeper into it, then maybe I can have a more solid foundation to build from.  I want to look at historical and cultural context, the original language, and among other things, find out how it affects me today.

As always, I will be blogging about my project.  The 12 books I’ve decided to study are: Job, James, Romans, 1 Corinthians, 1 Timothy, Philippians, Galatians, Jeremiah, Isaiah, John, Acts, and Revelation.  I might not get to all of them this year, but as faith and it’s deepening should be a life-long journey, I will certainly continue beyond 2015.  I just want to be more intentional about it for this year at least.

Because this is such a broad and vague idea, I’m going to see how it goes as time goes by and make adjustments as needed.  I do plan on studying until I feel like I’m “done” with a book, then I’ll move on to the next.  I hope you’ll take this journey with me and please share any insights you may have.

Leave a Reply

