new york – 8/16/15

Day dawned late for us.  Having gone to bed after 1am, we slept in until about 10am.  After showering, I partook of the pancakes and wondered outside.  There’s a natural spring not too far from the cottage and Robbie, Sherrie, Micah, Kelly, Tevan, Jason, and I made our way to it, dipping our water bottles into the clear, cool water.  We also picked a few tiny apples, and some very ripe blackberries and raspberries.  Yum.  Rob and Sher showed us two trees they had twisted together in 2006 that have now graphed together and invited us to do the same.  Rob pointed out some good candidates and while Jason struggled to push the branches of one tree around the other, I just held them steady.  Micah and Kelly found a pair just a few feet away and had an easier time of it as their trees weren’t as mature.  When we got back to the cottage they showed us Mike and Nina’s tree that was much more graphed together.

green everywhere

srsly. everywhere.

srsly. everywhere.

our trees

look, i'm helpful!

look, i’m helpful! photo credit: Robbie

photo credit: Robbie

the spring; such cool and clear water. yum!

the spring; such cool and clear water. yum!

love Queen Anne's Lace

love Queen Anne’s Lace

Aubrie and Jason

Aubrie and Jason

teeny tiny frog

teeny tiny frog

toadstools!

toadstools!

Mike and Nina’s tree, isn’t that so cool?

Lunch was fend for yourself and after shooting the breeze for a bit, we went into the water.  They have a floating dock and a giant inflatable raft, which Robbie towed to another part of the lake, closer to the rope swing and an open meadow.  Jason, Kelly, and I got there before the rest of the group, taking a dip and climbing onto the raft.  It was so relaxing to lay there in the water as it gently rocked us.  I easily could have taken a nap.  When everyone else arrived, we played a bit of Spikeball and got quite warm when the sun came out.  Sherrie and Shana rowed out to the raft and I joined them as Micah and Kelly used the rope swing.  I decided not do the rope swing as my piercing is still tender and I was afraid of what the impact of the water might do.

you can just see mine and Jason's legs. photo credit: Robbie

you can just see mine and Jason’s legs. photo credit: Robbie

photo credit: Robbie

photo credit: Robbie

Once the sun moved behind the clouds, Kelly, Micah, and I decided to head back to the cottage.  They took the boat back and I decided to swim.  It wasn’t very far and I wanted to exercise a little.  When I got tired, I just rolled onto my back and floated.  Floating is one of my favorite things about being in the water, the way the water fills my ears and everything else just fades away; I can hear each of my breaths echoing in my ears; I feel like the world just falls away as I’m laying there, eyes closed, and letting the water carry me.  I was a little freaked out by the grass that would sometimes entangle my feet, and tended to flail whenever I encountered it.  Eventually I was close enough to shore to just walk the rest of the way.

When I got to the cottage Micah and Kelly were sitting next to the ever burning fire (to keep the bugs away) talking to Mike and Nina.  I tried to squeeze the water out of my board shorts and dry out as much as possible since I had left my towel in the meadow (plus, whenever I swim I tend to air dry).  Eventually I went inside and changed back into normal clothes.

I had offered to go into town with Sherrie the next time she was going to the store.  Jason ended up coming with us, to see if there was anything he might want to pick up.  We went to Norwich and the drive was breathtaking.  We talked about what it would be like to live in such a rural area.  It’s nice to experience such remote living while on vacation, but I can’t imagine doing it long term.  While we don’t live in a sprawling city, I do appreciate that several grocery stores are only a few minutes away.

elephants!

elephants!

There are have two hammocks at the cottage, one rope and one made of fabric.  I hadn’t tried the fabric one and so Jason helped me get in.  I ended up dozing a little and when I woke up it was very quite.  Everyone had gone inside (except for Bruce, who was trying to fish).  Just about everyone was around the table and the food was almost ready.  Everyone else had linguine with clams while Sherrie had kindly prepared normal pasta sauce for me.  Everything was delicious and just as before, everyone was well satisfied.

We had gotten supplies at the store to make chocolate chip cookies.  Jason and I worked out those while most everyone else sat around outside.  Micah stayed in for a while, just messing around on the guitar.  He played a few songs that we could sing to and it was nice to blend our voices together while we prepared the dough.  It’s one of my favorite things to do with my brother.

Because we had doubled the batch, we didn’t finish cooking all the dough, but had plenty for pizzookies and ice cream sandwiches.  We put the rest in the fridge and joined most everyone outside for a game of Gesstures.  It was girls vs. boys and the girls won, even though we had less people.  I love charade type games and this one was no different.

Even though it was midnight, a group of us decided to go “deer hunting” and visit the nearby cemetery.  Deer hunting involves a big spotlight and open fields.  Sherrie drove, I sat in the passenger seat, Jason and Marc took turns with the spotlight, and Shana and Kyle shared the back.  We only saw a few deer but enjoyed the night drive and made it to the cemetery where I took a few shots as we drove by.  In some of the shots “orbs” of light appear.  To those who believe in them, the orbs are ghosts.  We decided not to get out of the car, but made our way back to the cottage, ready for bed.

Leave a Reply

