naturally

I’ve decided that I want to try and replace all cleaning and toiletry/beauty products with natural, homemade ones.  In my journey so far, I’ve found that not all-natural recipes are made equal.  I like the idea of simple, two or three ingredient, and easy to make recipes.  However, that laziness on my part is not always the best.  I’m going to share some of the recipes I’ve found and used so far.  Some of them I’ve made but not had a chance to test out.  I might update this post once I have, or just write another one when I’ve made more things.

This deodorant is amazing.  I LOVE it.  Jason happened to be almost done with one of his store bought deodorants and I just tossed about a inch of what was left from mine.  With 6 ingredients it can add up in cost, especially when getting the Shea Butter, but that can be used for other things so it’s not too bad.  It does leave my pits a little oily feeling, but it does dry pretty quickly (especially if you do the thing I do and just swing your arms forward and back to create some friction in there).  Knowing that I made it, and can customize the scent with different essential oils, it’s all worth it.

Next up is this hand soap, made from three ingredients.  Perhaps I should have given it more of a chance, but this did not thicken the way I was expecting.  Also, I made the mistake of using an ugly green bar of soap, which resulted in it being very vomit-like in color.  I had bought a really cute globe glass soap dispenser and was so excited to use it.  Upon pouring the soap in and testing it out, I couldn’t handle it and threw it out.  Next I’m going to try this recipe, hopefully it’ll be more viscous.  I would also like to try this homemade foaming soap, though probably not for a while since that also means I have to get a special dispenser.

I found that quite a few recipes referenced washing soda and was relieved when I found this recipe to turn normal baking soda into washing soda.  Many of our local grocery stores have great bulk bins so I have a lot of bulk baking soda on hand.  It does take some time (45 minutes in the oven), but it’s really easy.  I went ahead and doubled it since I knew I was going to need it for a few recipes.

As with the hand soap, this liquid laundry detergent was pretty watery.  I do really like the smell (I used lavender essential oil) and am not opposed to using it again.  I’ve done one load of laundry using it and didn’t notice a smell to our laundry at all.  I guess no smell is better than a bad one, right?  It was extremely easy to make and it would be more viscous the less water you added at the end.

Speaking of doing the laundry, I also made this reusable dryer sheet solution.  Of course, the day after I made it my Mighty Nest monthly subscription came and it was the felted laundry balls (LOVE them! and have added a few drops of lavender essential oil (are you seeing a theme yet?) to them. . .mmmmm).  As a result, I haven’t tried them but I probably will with the next load.  I did end up cutting a few of our hand towels (we just get a pack from Costco so it’s no great loss).

To add to the laundry list (haha), I made this laundry booster.  Two ingredients and you’re good to go.  The washing soda and hydrogen peroxide started smoking when I was mixing them together.  It was really alarming at first, and I could feel the heat radiating from the jar as I combined them.  I did use this in the last load of laundry, but honestly can’t say if it made a difference or not.  I figure it doesn’t hurt though.

I love my kitties, but unfortunately boy kitty has a tendency to pee everywhere but the litter box (we’re pretty sure girl kitty has frightened him out of using it. boo. ).  I tried another recipe but found that it left the carpet soaking and damp for several weeks (and smelling strongly of vinegar, which isn’t much better than pee imo), which can cause another terrible problem, mold and mildew.  So I was thrilled to find this solution, one that leaves the place smelling better than before (in more ways than one ;).  I leave it soaking for 24 at least and then vacuum it up.  The next time I do this, I will also leave our dehumidifier close to the area to help it dry up, as I’ve found that even this one seems to leave the carpet feeling damp for a long time (honestly, we live in a pretty damp area so it’s not really a surprise).

The very first thing that I tried was this window cleaner.  I need to add more lavender essential oil as it still has a very strong vinegar smell.  I do really like using it.  I bought these glass spray bottles and need to buy more (I just looked them up and they are currently out of stock.  no!!!).   Another easy recipe and one that works well.

I don’t traditionally wash my fruits and vegetables when I bring them home (I know, I know) but with this spray, it takes no time at all.  And it didn’t leave the vegetables tasting or smelling like vinegar.

All in all, I’m very happy with this journey I’m just now embarking on.  I look forward to sharing more recipes with you!

2 thoughts on “naturally

Leave a Reply

