just some stuff

I haven’t done much more since my last post, but I thought I’d do a brief update.

On the hair front I’m doing okay.  I still not seeing the results I want, but it’s not been as oily and gross as before.  Turns out you’re supposed to leave the “secret ingredient” in for at least two minutes.  This was not mentioned in the PDF and so I was just washing it out almost right away.  I know that I shouldn’t have assumed just having it touch my hair would be enough, but it wasn’t until I was over a week into this stuff and feeling discouraged that I discovered this tip in the comments section.  So that’s definitely helped, but I’ve decided to go to an even greater extreme.  Water Only washing.

Jason kinda laughs at me for getting on the “hippy” wagon, but I think it’s important to take care of myself in as natural a way as possible and also be good to the earth.  So sue me if that means I’m becoming a hippy.  Anyway, the idea is that you literally wash your hair with water.  I’m thankful to have already done some of the transition away from the toxic hair products and I’m hoping that moving to this won’t be as difficult a transition.  I still have a bit of my homemade shampoo left, but I think it’ll only last me one more wash.  I’ve been trying to wash my hair every other day or so, which cuts down on the water as use as I’m not having to rinse out my hair.  I take about a 3 minute shower now when I don’t need to wash my hair.  I’m going to slowly move from this every other day to only doing it once a week.  Think of all the water and time I’ll be saving.  I’m excited.

A lot of what I read about using natural products (or water only) to wash hair is that the hardness of your water can really affect the results.  I used this test to determine if my water was soft or hard.  It appears to be soft, which is good.  I also bought a boar bristle brush, but I have yet to clean it so I haven’t been using it every day.  Anyway, I am so ready for my hair to also get on board with this plan, hopefully soon.

I also made this body wash.  I did use it all, but it made my nauseous every time I used it.  Maybe it was the honey I was using.  I think the combination of honey and oil was not a pleasant smell.  On the plus side, it did leave my skin feeling very soft afterwards.  I just can’t justify the sick-to-my-stomach feeling I got with each use.   I still need to find another recipe.

Lastly, I made this moisturizer.  Another fail.  It was too greasy for my taste.  Unfortunately I now have all this moisturizer that I don’t want to throw away but also don’t want to use.  Oh well.  Next time I’m going to try this recipe.

Something else I’m looking into is living mostly Zero Waste.  This is an awesome movement where nothing is sent to the landfill but everything has another use.  It’s not just recycling, in fact recycling is not part of it at all.  I’ve managed to cut down a lot on things that were before single use by using hand towels instead.  It feels good.  My next challenge is kitty litter.  I’m doing some research on it and will share what I’ve found in my next post.  I’m not sure I want to go super hard core with this, but if I can even reduce the waste our household produces, I’ll be happy.

Leave a Reply

